HOW DO YOU KNOW IF YOU LOVE JESUS?

Author:
Adam Nesmith
Date:
October 19, 2022
Type:

"Anyone who does not love me will not obey my teaching. These words you hear are not my own; they belong to the Father who sent me." John 14: 24

The Christian life is a path of discipleship, founded in our response of love to Jesus' love for us. The Bible clearly states that we should not be lukewarm in our faith (Revelation 3:16). In this thought-provoking article, Adam Nesmith reflects,

"Loving Christ is not an optional part of Christianity. Therefore, there is no better question to examine the state of your heart than simply asking “do I love Jesus or not?” Yet I have often found in my own life that this question can quickly become very abstract. How do you know if you love Jesus? Are there any objective tests to help you assess the state of your soul?"

J.C. Ryle in his book “Holiness” provides some helpful ways in which we can consider this, and Nesmith uses these to give us a useful template for self-examination and assessment.

"Love for Jesus is the foundation, the root, the fountain of all true Christianity."

Image: Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Recent Posts

March 21, 2023
The Prayer Practice

An online resource to help create a regular time of prayer and its adoption as a regular routine. "Prayer is simply the medium through which we communicate and commune with God. The practice of prayer is learning to set aside dedicated time to intentionally be with God, in order to become like him and partner […]

Read More
March 21, 2023
Book Review - Grace at Work: Redeeming the grind and glory of your job

Book by Bryan Chapell This book is a great read for anyone who finds work difficult, enjoyable and everything in between. Brian brings the Bible’s view of life and work to look at integrity, purpose, success, leadership and so much more. It is not your typical academic theology book and makes for a refreshing and […]

Read More
March 21, 2023
Book Review - Work that Makes a Difference

book by Daniel Doriani Daniel Doriani is the Founder and Executive Director of the Centre for Faith and Work, St Louis and professor of theology at Covenant Theological Seminary. He’s had a broad taste of work - listing security guard, building labourer, tennis coach and pastor as some of his past jobs. He is not […]

Read More

Categories